FG to Impose Precision Lockdown In 18 LGAs

EIGHTEEN Local Government Areas in Nigeria will be have to undergo compulsory lockdown in order to contain the spread of the coronavirus in the country, authorities have said.

According to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, the eighteen Local Government Areas account for 60% of COVID-19 cases in Nigeria.

The government extended a full lockdown in Kano state, the state with the second highest number of confirmed cases in the country after Lagos.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation said that the precision lockdown would be implemented by the government of the states, where the 18 local governments reside.

He said that Nigeria had not reached its peak, adding that with 39 molecular labs, the number of infections will continue to rise.

“Nigeria is not yet ready for full opening of the economy and tough decisions have to be taken for the good of the greater majority,” said Boss Mustapha, chairman of Nigeria’s presidential task force for COVID-19. “Any relaxation will only portend grave danger for our populace.”

Mustapha said the government had identified nine densely populated “high burden” local government areas which could be candidates for “precision” lockdown measures. He did not say where they were located.

He asked all local authorities including religious and traditional leaders to ensure compliance with non-pharmaceutical interventions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *