Court Declares Aregbesola Winner Of Osun Governorship Election


Banke Ojo









THE Osun State Electoral Tribunal has declared Governor Raufu Aregbesola of the All Progressives Congress –APC, as the winner of last year’s governorship election.

The declaration was made by Justice Elizabeth Ipejime at the high court in Osogbo on Friday.

Aregbesola defeated his Peoples Democratic Party –PDP, rival, Senator Iyiola Omisore, scoring 392, 284 votes to Omisore’s 292, 742 ballots.

Friday’s declaration has put an end to all controversies surrounding the keenly contested election.

It would be recalled that Omisore and his party, PDP, opted to challenge the result of the August 9, 2014 election at the tribunal.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *