Non-EU Citizens Must Register to Travel Between EU Countries From 2022

THE Schengen Agreement led to the abolishment of border checks between 22 out of 27 Member States and 4 non-EU members since 1995.

The measure will become mandatory in 2023, according to the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS).

Previously, the system was set to be activated in 2021. The new timeline should “allow travellers and border control checks to adapt to the new system”.

The new system will apply to travellers from countries like the United States, Brazil and Canada.

Applicants will be checked to make sure that they do not pose a security risk to the EU. The registration will cost around 7 euros. People under 18 will not need to pay any fees to register.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *